Federal Register

USFS Letter

USDA Press Releases

Meet the Members


Index of Documents

Working groups

The Public Forum

Related Links


Dr. K. Norman Johnson, Chair

Oregon State University


Dr. James Agee

University of Washington


Dr. Robert Beschta

Oregon State University


Dr. Virginia Dale

Oak Ridge National Lab.

Oak Ridge, TN


Dr. Linda Hardesty

Washington State Univ.


Dr. James Long

Utah State University


Dr. Larry Nielsen

Pennsylvania State Univ.


Dr. Barry Noon

Colorado State University


Dr. Roger Sedjo

Resources for the Future

Washington, D.C.


Dr. Margaret Shannon

Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs

Syracuse, NY


Dr. Ronald Trosper

Northern Arizona Univ.


Charles Wilkinson

University of Colorado


Dr. Julia Wondolleck

University of Michigan



DATE: January 14, 1999


TO: The Committee of Scientists


FROM: K. Norman Johnson, Committee Chair


SUBJECT: Teleconference #9 Committee Meeting Notes



Enclosed are the notes from the ninth public teleconference call of the Committee of Scientists Federal Advisory Committee held January 7, 1999, from 12:00 pm to 4:00 pm Eastern Standard Time.


The purpose of the teleconference was to continue to discuss the committee's draft report to the Secretary of Agriculture and the Chief of the Forest Service. The public could participate on the telephone call at the Washington D.C. Office of the Forest Service and all regional offices of the Forest Service.


Enclosed you will find:

Attendance on January 7, 1999

Meeting minutes



Thank you for your participation in the meeting.



January 7, 1999; TELECONFERENCE




Dr. Norm Johnson, Chair

Washington D.C. Office of Forest Service -

Dr. James Agee

Kevin Elliott, Forest Service

Dr. Robert Beschta

Chris Risbrudt, Forest Service

Dr. Virginia Dale

Rick Roberts, Forest Service

Dr. Linda Hardesty

Chester Joy, General Accounting Office

Dr. James Long

Bob Bierer, American Forest and Paper Assoc.

Dr. Roger Sedjo

Mary Munson, Defenders of Wildlife

Dr. Margaret Shannon

Dr. Ronald Trosper

Region 1 -

Charles Wilkinson

Mike Wood, Alliance for the Wild Rockies

Dr. Julia Wondolleck


Region 3 -


Art Briggs, Forest Service

Bob Cunningham, Designated Federal Official

Doug Shaw, Forest Service


Paul Johnson, Forest Service



Committee Staff Support

Region 4 -

Jonathan Stephens, USFS

Dave Iverson, Forest Service




Region 6 -


Shandra Smith, Forest Service


Laura Cleland, Indpendent Forest Products Assoc.



Region 8 -


Gary Pierson, Forest Service


Steve Weaver, Forest Service


Robert Wilhelm, Forest Service


Dave Merriweather, Forest Service




Minutes of January 7th Teleconference Call with Committee of Scientists



General Discussion of Revised Draft Summary


Dr. Shannon led a discussion of the January 6 Draft Revised Summary. The Committee discussed the reorganization of the summary. There was extensive discussion on the sustainability section. The Committee discussed the role of multiple use in the context of sustainability. Dr. Shannon agreed to make some revisions to the sustainability section to reflect the Committee's conversations. Professor Wilkinson briefed the committee on the statutory basis for sustainability. Dr. Dale discussed the need for a section on global implications of sustainability. Dr. Wondolleck discussed the stewardship capacity section. The committee agreed that planning is part of stewardship capacity.


Schedule of Draft Report


Dr. Dale agreed that she would use the resources of the Oak Ridge Laboratory to complete the production of the committee's report. The Committee has scheduled public teleconferences for January 28, February 2 and February 4 from 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm (eastern standard time).