Federal Register

USFS Letter

USDA Press Releases

Meet the Members


Index of Documents

Working groups

The Public Forum

Related Links


Dr. K. Norman Johnson, Chair

Oregon State University


Dr. James Agee

University of Washington


Dr. Robert Beschta

Oregon State University


Dr. Virginia Dale

Oak Ridge National Lab.

Oak Ridge, TN


Dr. Linda Hardesty

Washington State Univ.


Dr. James Long

Utah State University


Dr. Larry Nielsen

Pennsylvania State Univ.


Dr. Barry Noon

Colorado State University


Dr. Roger Sedjo

Resources for the Future

Washington, D.C.


Dr. Margaret Shannon

Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs

Syracuse, NY


Dr. Ronald Trosper

Northern Arizona Univ.


Charles Wilkinson

University of Colorado


Dr. Julia Wondolleck

University of Michigan



DATE: December 4, 1998


TO: The Committee of Scientists


FROM: K. Norman Johnson, Committee Chair


SUBJECT: Teleconference #7 Committee Meeting Notes



Enclosed are the notes from the seventh public teleconference call of the Committee of Scientists Federal Advisory Committee held November 19, 1998, from 2:30 pm to 5:00 pm Eastern Standard Time.


The purpose of the teleconference was to continue to discuss the committee's draft report to the Secretary of Agriculture and the Chief of the Forest Service. The public could participate on the telephone call at the Washington D.C. Office of the Forest Service and all regional offices of the Forest Service.


Enclosed you will find:

Attendance on November 19, 1998

Meeting minutes



Thank you for your participation in the meeting.



November 19, 1998; TELECONFERENCE




Dr. Norm Johnson, Chair

Washington D.C. Office of Forest Service -

Dr. James Agee

Rick Roberts, Forest Service

Dr. Virginia Dale

Kevin Elliott, Forest Service

Dr. Linda Hardesty

Susan Yonts-Shepard, Forest Service

Dr. Jim Long

Casey Giffen, Forest Service

Dr. Barry Noon

Chester Joy, General Accounting Office

Dr. Roger Sedjo

Ryan Coles, General Accounting Office

Dr. Margaret Shannon

Vince DeWitte, Office of General Counsel

Dr. Ronald Trosper

Bob Bierer, American Forest and Paper Assoc.

Dr. Julia Wondolleck

Karen Crass, Nat. Cattleman's and Beef Assoc.


Mary Munson, Defenders of Wildlife



Bob Cunningham, Designated Federal Official

Region 1 -


Arlene Montgomery, Swan Lake, Montana



Committee Staff Support

Region 2 -

Jonathan Stephens, USFS

Chris Liggett, Forest Service




Region 8 -


Paul Arndt, Forest Service


Robert Wilhelm, Forest Service



Region 9 -


Sam Emmons, Forest Service


Vince Vukelich, Office of General Counsel


John Vandlik, Office of General Counsel




Minutes of November 19th Teleconference Call with Committee of Scientists



General Discussion of Draft Report


Dr. Johnson led the discussion of the overall report. Dr. Johnson discussed the structure and content of the report and the next steps necessary to complete the committee's work. The committee discussed Dr. Sedjo's dissent from the recommendations of the draft report. The committee agreed that the dissent should be part of the final report. The committee would like to have the final report completed by the end of December. Dr. Johnson continues to work on a summary of the recommendations in the report.


Committee Discussion of Sustainability


The committee had an extensive discussion of the definition of sustainability. Committee agreed that sustainability has 3 elements: ecological, social, and economic. There was a discussion about whether or not certain elements had primacy over another. Discussed the international recognition of sustainability.