Federal Register

USFS Letter

USDA Press Releases

Meet the Members


Index of Documents

Working groups

The Public Forum

Related Links


Dr. K. Norman Johnson, Chair

Oregon State University


Dr. James Agee

University of Washington


Dr. Robert Beschta

Oregon State University


Dr. Virginia Dale

Oak Ridge National Lab.

Oak Ridge, TN


Dr. Linda Hardesty

Washington State Univ.


Dr. James Long

Utah State University


Dr. Larry Nielsen

Pennsylvania State Univ.


Dr. Barry Noon

Colorado State University


Dr. Roger Sedjo

Resources for the Future

Washington, D.C.


Dr. Margaret Shannon

Maxwell School of Citizenship & Public Affairs

Syracuse, NY


Dr. Ronald Trosper

Northern Arizona Univ.


Charles Wilkinson

University of Colorado


Dr. Julia Wondolleck

University of Michigan



DATE: July 22, 1998


TO: The Committee of Scientists


FROM: K. Norman Johnson, Committee Chair


SUBJECT: Teleconference #5 Committee Meeting Notes



Enclosed are the notes from the fifth public teleconference call of the Committee of Scientists Federal Advisory Committee held July 15, 1998, from 11:00 am to 2:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time.


The purpose of the teleconference was to continue to discuss the committee's draft report to the Secretary of Agriculture and the Chief of the Forest Service. The public could participate on the telephone call at the Washington D.C. Office of the Forest Service and all regional offices of the Forest Service.


Enclosed you will find:

Attendance on July 15, 1998

Meeting minutes



Thank you for your participation in the meeting.







Dr. Norm Johnson, Chair

Washington D.C. Office of Forest Service -

Dr. Linda Hardesty

Mark Delfs, Forest Service

Dr. Jim Long

Bob Bierer, American Forest and Paper Assoc.

Dr. Larry Nielsen

Katherine Carlton, Defenders of Wildlife

Dr. Barry Noon

Ross Campbell, General Accounting Office

Dr. Margaret Shannon

Ron Diver, RAND Corporation

Dr. Ronald Trosper


Dr. Julia Wondolleck

Region 2 -


Chris Liggett, Forest Service



Bob Cunningham, Designated Federal Official

Region 4 -


Kathy Hauser, Forest Service

Committee Staff Support


Jonathan Stephens, USFS

Region 6 -


William Connelly, Forest Service


Shandra Smith, Forest Service


Mauragrace Healey, Forest Service


Laura Cleland, Independent Forest Products Assoc.




Region 8 -


Paul Arndt, Forest Service


Gary Pierson, Forest Service


Robert Wilhelm, Forest Service


Clair Redmond, Forest Service




Region 9 -


Ken Holtje, Forest Service




Region 10 -


Macky McClung, Forest Service





Minutes of July 15th Teleconference Call with Committee of Scientists


Discussion of Meetings in Washington, D.C. with Forest Service and Department of Agriculture Officials


On July 17, the Committee of Scientists will meet with the Secretary of Agriculture, Dan Glickman; Under Secretary, Jim Lyons; Chief of the Forest Service, Mike Dombeck; and other officials to discuss their report and recommendations. The committee will also meet with the Forest Service team drafting the revised land management planning regulations.


Discussion of Steps to Complete Committee of Scientists' Report


Dr. Johnson discussed the steps necessary to complete the report. The committee is scheduled to publish the final report in early September, 1998.


General Discussion of Sections of Report


Dr. Larry Nielsen led a discussion on the Social and Economic Sustainability. The Forest Service contributes to the nation and local communities and is a partner in the planning process. The agency contributes to sustainability.


Dr. Julia Wondolleck led a discussion on Building Capacity for Sustainability. Capacity is described in the context of the agency to accomplish certain tasks in partnership with other agencies and the private sector. The committee discussed the need for training in the Forest Service to develop a cadre of people to implement the new planning process. The Committee discussed the role of advisory boards, both FACA and non-FACA chartered.


Dr. Norman Johnson discussed the watershed restoration strategy. He described a 6 point plan for conserving and restoring watersheds.


Dr. Margaret Shannon discussed a memo she has drafted on the Forest Service appeals process. The Committee discussed the differences between the Forest Service and BLM appeals procedures. Forest Service is post-decisional, whereas, the BLM is pre-decisional. The committee will support changes to the appeals process.